Joe Rosenstein

Pirkei Avot - Speaking Engagements

Reflections on Pirkei Avot (Ethics of the Fathers):

Not Just What My Rebbe Taught Me

(presented in reverse chronological order)

(all events are via zoom unless otherwise noted)

Post Virtual Book Tour


Date/Time:  Sunday, January 22, Sunday February 5, and Sunday, February 26; 10:00am EDT
Host: Princeton Jewish Center, in person
Moderator:  Neil Litt
Topic:  A Fresh Look at Pirkei Avot


Date/Time:  Thursday December 8 and Thursday December 15; 7:00pm EST
Host: Jewish Study Center, Washington DC
Moderator: Gerald Garfinkel
Topic:  Rewards and Punishment in Pirkei Avot


Date/Time:  Thursday, October 20; 7:30pm EDT
Host:  I. L. Peretz Secular Jewish Community, Central New Jersey
Moderator:  Claudia Farber  
Topic:  Ancient/Modern Ethical Principles – Texts


Date/Time: Sunday, October 3; 7:30pm EDT
Host:  First Narayever Congregation, Toronto ON
Moderator:  Rabbi Edward Elkin
Topic: Hints of Yom Kippur in Pirkei Avot


Date/Time: Tuesday, September 6; 8:00pm (EDT)
Host:  Highland Park Conservative Temple – Congregation Anshe Emeth, Highland Park NJ
Moderator:  Jerome Langer


Virtual Book Tour


Date/Time: Thursday, August 4; 8:30am CDT (9:30am EDT)
Host:  Mishkan Chicago, Chicago IL
Moderator:  Rabbi Lizzi Heydemann


Date/Time: Tuesday, August 2; 7:00pm (EDT)
Host:  Shirat haNefesh, Silver Spring MD
Moderator:  Heidi Coleman


Date/Time: Wednesday, June 14; 7:00pm (EDT)
Host:  Romemu, New York NY
Moderator:  Rabbi David Ingber


Date/Time:  Thursday, June 2, 7:30pm (EDT)
Host:  Kehillah Synagogue, Chapel Hill NC
Moderator:  Len Rogoff


Date/Time:  Tuesday, May 31; 7:30pm (EDT)
Host:  Kehilla Synagogue, Chapel Hill NC
Moderator:  Susan Werk


Date/time: Thursday, May 26; 7:00pm (EDT)
Host: Congregation Beth Abraham, Buffalo NY
Moderator: Cantor Irwin Gelman


Date/time: Sunday, May 22; 2:00pm (EDT)
Host: Jewish Study Center, Washington DC
Moderator: Gerald Garfinkel


Date/time: Wednesday, May 18; 6:30pm PDT (9:30pm EDT)
Host: Temple B’nai Israel, Petaluma CA
Moderator:  Rabbi Ted Feldman


Date/Time:  Tuesday, May 17; 7pm (EDT)
Host:  Adas Yoshuron Synagogue, Auburn ME
Moderator:  Rabbi Sruli Dresdner

Date/Time:  Sunday, May 15; 7:00pm (EDT)
Host:  Heska Amuna Synagogue, Knoxville TN
Moderator:  Rabbi Alon Ferency


Date/time:  Tuesday, May 3; 6:00pm (EDT)
Host:
  Temple Emanuel, Newton MA
Moderator: 
Rabbi Michele Robinson

View a recording of the May 3 event on YouTube – https://youtu.be/mOkm4vsHm1A


Date/Time:  Sunday, April 24; 7:00pm (EDT)
Host:  National Havurah Committee
Moderator: 
Rabbi Sue Gulack


Date/Time:  Wednesday, April 20; 7:30pm (EDT)
Host:  Highland Park (NJ) Minyan
Moderator:  Stanley Messer